Chicken VS. Beer

Yesterday afternoon, at the check-out line at Food Lion.

In front of me was an old lady,  the walker in hand, trying to finish up her shopping.  I’m guessing, perhaps in early 60’s? She had a short wavy hair under her hat, charcoal long coat and a handbag, well, maybe a purse.  In front of her was one rottiserrie chicken in that plastic container thingy and a case of Miller Light.

“Ma’am, you can not purchase the beer with your foodstamp”, the girl explained. She was pale, with heavy eye make-up and sheepish voice. (Oh, for you my Indonesian readers, foodstamp is basically a government assistance program, they will give you some  amount of money for you to buy grocery and stuff. I have been told that long time ago they indeed look like stamps that you tore off and presented to the cashier. Now they come like a regular ATM card).

The old lady grumbled. “Very well, I dont want it then”.  At that time my eyes were darting somewhere else.. well OK I was looking at those Hershey’s bars. Buy one get one free. VERY tempting. And also those M&Ms! Who’s that on the cover of the magazines? Oh anyway, back to the old lady.

I saw her digging her purse. And punched her PIN. And grumbled some more. This time I couldnt catch what she said, my son was talking about some kind of fish somewhere in South America and a tall guy behind me start to sigh. Yea, I feel ya bud, this lady took forever. Be strong, you are a grown man.

And there it was. The unwanted item.  Sitting by the cashier. The lady made up her mind… she loves beer better. Off she went, walker, purse and all, with her Miller Light.

About srihicks

Somewhere between working a full-time job and chauffering my son around everyday, there is still a house to clean, a husband, bills to pay and I still need few hours of sleep. Why adding a blog in my hectic life? Because I need a hobby and I find blogging as an outlet to pour out my thoughts without being interrupted. In some level, it keeps my sanity level in-check. Yes I am that kind of gal that wants to be a superwoman. I want to make money, have a house to tend, a wonderful family to cherish, good friends to hold and a blog to write. I have them all. Welcome, family, friends and readers, to my blog that reflects my random thoughts, of a gal that is trying to navigate a hectic little life. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken VS. Beer

  1. Yoke Yuliana says:

    yeaaa! u rock, ma’am! hehehe… udah tua masih demen ngebir aja si nenek :). anyway, who said beer doesn’t make us smarter? it does made Bud wiser 😉

Leave a Reply

