Don’t Butcher My Anthem!

Alright ladies and gentlemen, THE weekend is coming.

Superbowl is not something that I’m eager to watch (yes, I am one of a handful people who just does not understand why I need to see a bunch of hunky, sweaty guys in shiny tights piling on top of another in their attempt of  grabbing some kind of round object) and I’ve grown this so-called attitude when I see who will be singing my national anthem.

You see, unlike most of the people here, I choosed  to be an American. I earned my citizenship; I did my time, paid the fees, filled out a stackful of paperwork and submitted a truckload of backup documentation and went thru all the Federal background checks and passed all their tests.  I stood in that cold immigration room where they gave you that little flag and sang the national anthem, took my oath,  and at that time, that song became MY national anthem. I earned that song.

So it always (pardon my French) pisses me off when someone butchers it. Those offenders – yea, the one that forgets the words, change the notes, drag and stretch it left and right and put their ego look-at-me-I-can-blow-your-eardrums-out-with-my-voice … those people needs to be arrested and spend some time in jail. Look, they can put their own ‘signature’ in any other song. I could not care less. Just leave my anthem as it was written. And oh, while you are singing it, please stand straight and proud.  Countless soldiers have died for us, so  you can walk  and buy your stilettos and Hollywood mansion. At least you can stand and sing it right in return.

Back to Superbowl. This event has become a perfect opportunity for anthem butchering moment. And the more often they do it, the more ‘accustomed’ the audience has become. They start accepting it as a normal thing. The butchering.  They start looking at it as a ‘let the creativity flows’ (what?) or finding some lame excuse like ‘the singer is just overwhelmed’. Look, take your creativity somewhere else and get a grip of yourself, singer. Anthem is not supposed to be a tool to show off your egomaniac persona. It is not about you, you, and you, it should be considered as an honor to lift up your great country’s spirit along with the audience. Yea, something else that is not you. So sing it right or jail.

And who is the person that has a position to decide  who would be singing the anthem? What the heck is this person thinking? Was he/she smoking something funny? This person needs to go to jail too, along with the singer. And the singer can sing to this person and see if they can manage to survive sharing a cell.  I’m thinking Roseanne Barr and Christina Aguilerra.

So anyway. Well this post now sounds like a rant, a venting. But I’m really passionate about this and I have equal right to express my thoughts so I’m exercising it. Just please sing it right. It’s a great opportunity to serve your country. You don’t need to wear that heavy uniform and hear bullets zings 2 inches away from your ear. You don’t need to drive at 3AM in crappy neighborhood trying to catch a crackhead. You can still wear your nice suits, fave pairs of shoes and arrive in the limo and have your face broadcasted on screen all over the country. And you might come home with fat check. Just sing it right, sing it proud. Dont butcher my anthem.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About srihicks

Somewhere between working a full-time job and chauffering my son around everyday, there is still a house to clean, a husband, bills to pay and I still need few hours of sleep. Why adding a blog in my hectic life? Because I need a hobby and I find blogging as an outlet to pour out my thoughts without being interrupted. In some level, it keeps my sanity level in-check. Yes I am that kind of gal that wants to be a superwoman. I want to make money, have a house to tend, a wonderful family to cherish, good friends to hold and a blog to write. I have them all. Welcome, family, friends and readers, to my blog that reflects my random thoughts, of a gal that is trying to navigate a hectic little life. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Butcher My Anthem!

  1. Jual Juil says:

    nice article, Ta! 🙂

  2. Jual Juil says:

    anyway, lupa deh… ini aku Yoke, pake account FB yg u/ jualan. gak sadar kalo lagi login pake accoutn ini. hehe…

Leave a Reply

