Atlanta Brought a Kid Out of Me!

Hello again,

Sorry I havent updated my blog for quite a while.  I had a sort of  ‘girlfriends-getaway’ thing (with 2 kids toted along, oh well, but we are both moms, so whaddya expect?) to Atlanta last weekend. It started with the idea since hubby was supposed to go for a trip to Utah, why didn’t I go somewhere else too? Well hubby ended up staying at home since the trip got postponed to sometimes on March.

Anyway.

So I had my first experience being away from hubby, travelling away. I am so used to the concept that I’m the one staying home, he’s the one travelling. But last weekend was the vice-versa. It gave me a jitter: excited, nervous, ‘dont-really-want-to-leave-ya hun’ thing, and all in between. Felt like a little tiger getting ready for her first roaming around the tropical forest. We ended up having a blast, got to go to Indonesian restaurant and quenched my homesickness for traditional foods, went to Atlanta Aquarium, got lost somewhere in downtown and got a hotel room with the view of Atlanta airport: just needed to open the windows and saw all the lights and planes. Totally awesome. And oh, eating pizza in the bedroom.

That city let out a child out of me. I guess I’m so used to being a parent, adult, woman, I buried the spontaneous side of me somewhere deep. Ask my hubby, he’ll confirm the fact that I’m a planner and I plan stuff before I do stuff. Not this time. 

1. Subway train to downtown Atlanta.

We arrived early to Atlanta but couldn’t get checked in fast enough due to the room was still being cleaned out. Add to the fact that Atlanta’s traffic was pain in the peaches (pun intended).  Got spur of the moment, let’s take a train! The hotel’s shuttle bus took us to the airport, we bought the train tickets and there we were. My mind went 15 years back, when I used to take Jabotabek train back and forth for all kind of reasons, being squeezed by people and rocked as the train ran. Watching the raindrops kissed the windows, looking at the blurring running trees,  feeling the excitement as we are about to hop off. Ah, all those memories! Then it came another not-so-pleasant memories as well: the pickpockets, the obnoxious people, the smell, the litter. Oh well. Cant win all.  

2. Being lost.

Have you ever been lost in the crowd when you were little? In the county fair, in the supermarket, in the mall, somewhere on the street? Do you remember the nervousness,  the rush, and the feeling that you think you just twisted your gut? Well we got lost right after we got to downtown. The direction “walk three blocks then turn right” apparently was too complicated for me to comprehend, or inapplicable when you are in Atlanta downtown. Or both. We ended up walking in circle, asked directions from people just to find out we could’ve just walked three blocks and turned right (duh). So we knew we were lost, we were crunching time before the aquarium got closed for the day, but yet still trying to drink down all downtown’s sceneries, trying to absorb the nice view and feeling the rain trickling down on us. All of those feelings when you were lost, plus the wanting to enjoy the moment, plus the reality that we had two kids starting to whine,  tired from walking. Just like being lost in the toy store: you wanted to find your parents but you know you need to check out the store and all the cool toys.   (PS: We ended up finding the aquarium just to see that people were lining up and down, at least 300 people in front of us! We headed back to the hotel, not being lost to find the station that time, squeezed in the train again and we went back to aquarium the next morning. By car).

3. Atlanta Aquarium.

If you can go, go. This place is awesome. Here’s the link just to take a peek: http://www.georgiaaquarium.org/ The thought of having able to see few whale sharks in the middle of the  city was already mind blowing for me. Having to see few whalesharks, in the middle of the city, swimming above your head? My head was blown away.  Then there were gigantuous aquariums where I could sit down on the floor and my hands started pointing in random directions, trying to name the fish. Oh, grouper! There it was, black-tipped shark! Oh, flounder! Whoaaaa…. eel! What’s that, Dori fish from Finding Nemo! Awww.. cute little yellow fish! Wow, that one had a buckteeth? What’s that one? This one? Those ones! Look at that! This! Hey hey! Whaleshaaaaarrrrkkk!!! Awesome!

In the midst of my crazy moment, I had not realized there were 2 little girls watching me. One of them asked.

“Are you a little girl?”

I hesitated a little. ” No, I guess I’m a big girl.”

The blonde girl smiled. “How old are you?” (Whoa,  this question might offend few adult female, I know, but hey she was perhaps 5-year-old).

“I’m 35,” I said. My fingers made a three and a five.

She gave a thought. Her little fingers tapping the corner of her mouth. “Like…. three and five year old?” I wish!

I chuckled. “No… it’s more like THIRTY and five”.

“Whoa… that’s a lot of age!”

There I was, sucked back to my adulthood. “Yea it is, isn’t it?”

4. Indonesian food.

I eat Indonesian food quite regularly. I cook, or hubby cooks. Most of the stuff I need can be bought from Asian stores within the city limit or from neighbor cities, no biggie. But we don’t have Indonesian restaurants anywhere nearby. Atlanta has (at least) two.  The place give me a sense of back home, with Indonesian karaoke playing in the background, people chattering away in Indonesian language and a bunch of foods that had not touched my palate for years. Felt like I was floating; the aromas, the vibes, the taste, all brought back old memories. When I was a little girl. Check these out! We ordered these. Before we went home, we also filled up a basketful of Indonesian snacks to go.

 

5. Snow!

Who would’ve thought, after long tiring drive from Atlanta, we were greeted by snow on the way home?  The cooler was full of food, bag full of dirty laundry and my son dozing off in the backseat of my car. We were rollin’ on highway 85 and there it was… fluffy, dry, snow. The one that I’ve been wanting for weeks! Enough to keep people at home, best time to drive home.  So me and my son, ending the long weekend, by playing snowball war  in the front yard, at 10PM. What could’ve been better than that?

 

About srihicks

Somewhere between working a full-time job and chauffering my son around everyday, there is still a house to clean, a husband, bills to pay and I still need few hours of sleep. Why adding a blog in my hectic life? Because I need a hobby and I find blogging as an outlet to pour out my thoughts without being interrupted. In some level, it keeps my sanity level in-check. Yes I am that kind of gal that wants to be a superwoman. I want to make money, have a house to tend, a wonderful family to cherish, good friends to hold and a blog to write. I have them all. Welcome, family, friends and readers, to my blog that reflects my random thoughts, of a gal that is trying to navigate a hectic little life. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

