My Life Without TV (that is ending soon).

We’ve been living without TV.

Yea, that skinny black big square in the living room is no other than a decor. We used to stare at that ‘idiot box’ for hours each day, feeding ourselves passively with junk news, so-called reality shows, cartoons and in between. I found my husband snoring on the couch numerous times with clicker in hand. Or watching my son dragging his pillow from his bedroom upstairs, to watch his River Monsters. Or find myself amused on how big those houses that any ‘real’ housewives on TV had.

And every month we found ourselves unhappy with the TV bills. With 70% of the channels we did NOT care to watch. And I guess the beautiful scenes of what Discovery Channels provides nor the awesome clips that the History Chanel wowed my son, it was not good enough for us to shell out seventy bucks each month.

So, before new year, we said adieu to the magic cable.

My living room suddenly turned into lego room, congklak room, magazine room and popcorn room. We changed from passively being fed by whatever the producers chose to display, into an active chatting room between hushand and wife, or a battleship between lego A vs. lego B. My living room became alive.

I would be lying if I told you I did not go into withdrawal. I did. I used to wake up around noon just to drag my behind to the couch and looked for the clicker. Waiting for my coffee to brew and browse around the channels. Sipping my coffee and stare at the colorful box. The first week was rough – I had my coffee but nothing to stare at. My colorful box turned into an empty, black, silent box. So then I sat in the dining room. Then the coffee left my household. No TV, no coffee. I paced back and forth for few days then I realized I actually gaining extra sleep since then. No TV, no coffee = more sleep for me.

We got by, by visiting library. Books to read, and if we were THAT bored, we went to the third floor, renting some movies for free. It expanded our horizon a bit actually, from all the international movies we watched. The DVD usually are clean and scratchless (guess not many folks here in town interested in anything beside hollywood craps) and we learned a tiny bit about other culture. People look at us funny for not knowing what’s hip and on in the theatre but we look at the funny as well for not knowing the free, good options that are available for them to enrich their mind. Guess we both lost to the arguments.

I thought we were settled in this TV-less household.

Until yesterday afternoon, a lightning must’ve hit my husband’s head and he wanted to watch TV. Off he went, dialing and talking. Then it’s all set: we are hooked up to cable again. This time we got half of the price we used to pay last year with almost triple the channels. With HD’s for free. For some reasons I’m not THAT excited. The TV guy would be here on Thursday then we should be good to go in catching up with whatever my TV has to offer: the shows, the news, cartoons and whatnots.

I liked watching TV. I liked not having TV bills and I liked the absence of  TV. I liked that my husband would be able to watch his History Channel and my son would be able to watch his fishing show soon. I do, however, not having anything to look forward to.

Welcome, me, into the TV world again.

About srihicks

Somewhere between working a full-time job and chauffering my son around everyday, there is still a house to clean, a husband, bills to pay and I still need few hours of sleep. Why adding a blog in my hectic life? Because I need a hobby and I find blogging as an outlet to pour out my thoughts without being interrupted. In some level, it keeps my sanity level in-check. Yes I am that kind of gal that wants to be a superwoman. I want to make money, have a house to tend, a wonderful family to cherish, good friends to hold and a blog to write. I have them all. Welcome, family, friends and readers, to my blog that reflects my random thoughts, of a gal that is trying to navigate a hectic little life. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Life Without TV (that is ending soon).

  1. yoke says:

    Hahaha, welcome back to the tv world :). Anyway, when u wrote that u unsubscribe from the tv cable, I thought u still have some channels those are free. Just like TVRI, RCTI, SCTV etc in Indonesia gitu loooh. Ternyata babar blas ga nonton tv, toh. Hebat juga lho bisa bertahan berapa bulan itu. Hehehe…

Leave a Reply

