..In The Argument Why I Voted YES For Marriage Amendment.

Dear readers.

NC just passed an amendment, defining marriage as the union between one man and one woman. For some reasons this made an uproar especially in the internet. I’ve seen comment like NC people are racist, bigots, homophobic, idiot, backward and unconstitutional. WHAT?

First of all, do your homework before you call me any of the above.  They still teach history and civic in classrooms, right? NC is NOT the only states in USA that has this specific definition. We are actually the 31st. Did you call any residents of the other 30th states the same name-calling yet? If USA has 50 states. and 31st has similarities with NC, then do you think most of the USA are bigots, homophobic, idiot, backwards and unconstitutional? You sure you still want to live here?

Secondly. Did you even vote? If you are that passionate about this issue, why didn’t you? No time? Nonsense. The voting opened almost the whole day. It was a quick in-and-out. Sitting in burger chain might take longer and not good for your gut anyway. Voting is free, quick and effective. Does not contain MSG nor fat and surely not sugary. I am passionate of what I believe, and I had a chance to voice it out, I went voting, I got what I wanted, and you are upset? We had the same opportunity  to voice it out. I did, a lot of people did. You chose to snooze, you lost, and you are upset and call me names.

And did you know, the amendment isn’t against anyone, but pro-marriage and pro-North Carolina. Government did not make this. North Carolinians do. The people who cares about their state do. The amendment doesn’t change our marriage laws, but preserves our historic understanding of marriage by securing that definition in our constitution. Gays and lesbians have the right to live as they choose, and this amendment doesn’t change that, but they do not have the right to redefine marriage for the rest of society.  This was taken from this link: http://www.voteformarriagenc.com/docs/nc_faq.pdf

I believe that God created Adam and Eve. Oh, you said there is NO God? Then explain how the Big Bang Theory created humankind. Did man just popped in out of thin air? Man came from monkey, you said? Then how did monkey come to earth? From amoeba? I must be sleeping during the class when they explained it to me. Just because we do not see God, you can not rule out that He is non-exist. Hey, I never see your brain, should I rule it out too?  And I would like to follow what is right according to the Bible. I guess I’m more worried of what He’d think of me than what you’d think of me, so I went ahead and vote YES.

I have nothing against LGBT community. I believe a lot of them are good people. They stand up for what they believe, why can’t I? If they cheers when other states allow same-sex marriage, why can’t I cheer for NC decision? Where’s the equality here? Do I have to be ‘tolerant’ for they beliefs, will they be ‘tolerant’ of what I do believe? I think it works both ways.  If they really want to get married then I believe with all my strength that it would not be a problem for them to take a quick trip to any of those states that allow them to do so. That’s the power of love. It should conquer all the obstacles and follow the rule of the land. I applaud the wanting to do it right – get married for whatever reasons you may have. People also elope to Vegas for whatever reasons. I respect that. Can you respect mine? Before NC allowed lotteries, people travelled beyond the state line to buy their tickets.  Still same thing here for fireworks. At the end of the day, we will excercise our option and do the extra yard for something that we really wants. NC defines marriage as union between man and woman and that’s it. I vote YES.

 

 

 

About srihicks

Somewhere between working a full-time job and chauffering my son around everyday, there is still a house to clean, a husband, bills to pay and I still need few hours of sleep. Why adding a blog in my hectic life? Because I need a hobby and I find blogging as an outlet to pour out my thoughts without being interrupted. In some level, it keeps my sanity level in-check. Yes I am that kind of gal that wants to be a superwoman. I want to make money, have a house to tend, a wonderful family to cherish, good friends to hold and a blog to write. I have them all. Welcome, family, friends and readers, to my blog that reflects my random thoughts, of a gal that is trying to navigate a hectic little life. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

